WhatsApp will now let you delete sent messages. You could previously delete individual messages, but only from your point of view. Now, you can essentially unsend messages, hiding them from view from everyone in the conversation. Which could prove to be useful in countless situations.
How to Delete Sent WhatsApp Messages
As detailed in the WhatsApp FAQs for Android, iOS, and Windows Phone, the messaging app has added the option to unsend previously sent messages. Now, if you send a message you shouldn’t have sent, you can delete it for seven minutes from when you first clicked “Send”.
Just press and hold on the message you want to delete. Then tap the trash bin icon at the top of the chat window. You will then have two options: “Delete for Me” and “Delete for Everyone”. Choose the latter and then confirm, and the highlighted message(s) will disappear into the ether.
The original message will be replaced with “This message was deleted,” which is likely to prompt questions from the intended recipient. It should also go without saying that if they have already read the message there’s no way of exorcising it from their memory. Because Men in Black is fiction.
Be aware than WhatsApp is rolling this new feature out slowly, so you may not have access to the safety net that is “Delete for Everyone” quite yet. So, please do check it’s an option before you start sending nasty messages to everyone on WhatsApp. And if you ignore this warning, don’t blame us.
Telegram Beat WhatsApp to the Punch